Here are the 20 countries who collaborate on the Copenhagen Manual

59 participants from 20 countries are co-creating the Copenhagen Manual – a new international standard for measuring and developing public sector innovation. See the list below.

Copenhagen Manual

By Paul Sauer – Published 17/12-2019 - Number of participants updated 1/10-2020

Canada, New Zealand, Portugal, Wales, Germany – not counting OECD and the European Commission.

These are just some of the stakeholders who have joined the process of co-creating a Copenhagen Manual – a user-oriented guide and new international standard for measuring and developing public sector innovation, based on the Nordic Innovation Barometer.

Read more: Kickoff meeting in Copenhagen was a great success

Norway, Sweden, Iceland, Finland and countries like Poland, Czechia, and Greece among a number of other countries participate in the co-creation process.

A megalomaniacal dream

At the end of September, COI along with the center's Nordic partners chose to invite interested stakeholders to join the making of a Copenhagen Manual.  

Head of Analysis in COI, Ole Bech Lykkebo, is overwhelmed by the great interest and the many stakeholders who wishes to participate in the process. 

"When we invited two months ago, we had the somewhat megalomaniacal dream that maybe two or three other countries would be so interested in reusing the Nordic experience that they would even be willing to put work into writing a user manual," he says and continues:

More wants to join in

"The dream was quickly overtaken by reality. Now we are 19 countries co-creating. We are honestly overwhelmed by the great interest. And I think even more countries will join us," says Ole Bech Lykkebo.

He says that the Nordic countries will learn a lot from this process as well – and he is excited that more countries already are considering or testing an Innovation Barometer or similar tools.

Would you like to join?

If you are considering a similar survey in your country or have a methodical interest, feel free to join the co-creation. Contact head of analysis Ole Bech Lykkebo

See the list of participants as of October 1, 2020 below:

Alexander Grünwald GovLabAustria, Federal Ministry for the Civil Service Austria
Chad Hartnell ESDC (Employment and Social Development Canada) Canada
Julie Sunday Global Affairs Canada Canada
Jana Ticháčková Ministry of Interior, Department of Strategic Development and Coordination of Public Administration Czeck Republic
Marie Munch-Andersen COI (National Centre for Public Sector Innovation) Denmark
Ole Bech Lykkebo COI (National Centre for Public Sector Innovation) Denmark
Niels Jakobsen COI (National Centre for Public Sector Innovation) Denmark
Lene Krogh Jeppesen COI (National Centre for Public Sector Innovation) Denmark
Gitte Frej Knudsen Statistics Denmark Denmark
Helle Månsson Statistics Denmark Denmark
Jens Brodersen Statistics Denmark Denmark
Carter Bloch University of Aarhus Denmark
Giulio Caperna Composite Indicators and Scoreboards Competence Centre, Joint Research Centre of the European Commission Europe
Mina Shoylekova European Commission Structural Reform Support Service Europe
Marianne Pekola-Sjöblom Kuntaliitto (Association of Finnish Municipalities) Finland
Tuula Jäppinen Kuntaliitto (Association of Finnish Municipalities) Finland
Mathilde Blume Hertie School Germany
José Diaz Mendoza Hertie School Germany
Mark Hallerberg Hertie School Germany
Bettina Koebler  Politics for Tomorrow Germany
Caroline Paulick-Thiel Politics for Tomorrow Germany
Rubina Zern Deutsche Universität für Verwaltungswissenschaften Speyer Germany
Mike Weber Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft Germany 
Christos Kokkalas Ministry of Interior, Innovation in Public Sector Greece
Anna G. Björnsdóttir Icelandic Association of Local Authorities Iceland
Íris Huld Christersdóttir Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs Iceland
Helen Cahill Central Statistics Office Ireland
Letizia Gambi Dept. of Public Expenditure and Reform Ireland
Lilach Furst JDC's Elka Institute for Leadership and Governance Israel
Rani Dudai JDC's Elka Institute for Leadership and Governance Israel
Frans van Dongen Ministry of the Interior and Kingdom Relations Netherlands
Siwert de Groot Columbus Consult Netherlands
Ulla Agerskov Nordic Council of Ministers Nordics
Eirin Konstad Nilsen DIGDIR (Agency for Digitalisation) Norway
Fredrik Danker Monsen DIGDIR (Agency for Digitalisation) Norway
Une Tangen KS (Norwegian Association of Local and Regional Authorities) Norway
Michael S. Mark  NIFU (Nordic Institute for Studies in Innovation, Research and Education) Norway
Piret Tonurist OPSI (Observatory of Public Sector Innovation) OECD countries
Natalia Puchała  Metropolis GZM Poland
Agata Koszek-Pyka  Metropolis GZM Poland
Bruno Monteiro LabX - Experimentation Lab for Public Administration Portugal
Matija Kodra Ministry of Public Administration Slovenia
Oliver Butina Ministry of Public Administration Slovenia
Begoña Lázaro Ministry for Finances and Public Administration Spain
Klas Danerlöv SKR (Swedish Association of Local Authorities and Regions) Sweden
Amanda Hansson Statistics Sweden Sweden
Miriam Terrell Vinnova (Sweden's Innovation Agency) Sweden
Jonny Ivarsson Paulsson Vinnova (Sweden's Innovation Agency) Sweden
Annika Bergendahl Vinnova (Sweden's Innovation Agency) Sweden
Alenka Bonnard Staatslabor Switzerland
Dominik Mösching Staatslabor Switzerland
Alice Turner  Ylab/Nesta Wales
Rob Ashelford  Ylab/Nesta Wales
James Lewis Ylab/Nesta Wales
James Young-Drew Lightning Lab GovTech New Zealand
Sally Hett Lightning Lab GovTech New Zealand


- Copenhagen Manual is a user-oriented guide and new international standard for measuring and developing public sector innovation.

- Increasing international demand for the Nordic experiences with the Innovation Barometer has initiated the co-creation of the Copenhagen Manual

- The Innovation Barometer was the first of its kind worldwide, when COI and Statistics Denmark published it for the first time in 2015.

- Since 2015, all Nordic countries have copied the Innovation Barometer and made their own versions.